THE ABSURDITY OF BLUE MONDAY

sad-476039_1280   Alas, people have lived through another Blue Monday. For those of you who aren’t aware, Blue Monday is said to be the most depressing day in the UK, often falling on the third January of every year.

 

I don’t always have my head on straight and it takes me a while to get my head around certain concepts, but I believe that I can safely say with utmost certainty, that Blue Monday is a ridiculous concept.

 

Are people seriously suggesting that there is one day in the year where for every person in the country, life is basically a kick in the nuts for everyone involved?

 

You’ve got people around the country who are going through their fair share of trials and tribulations – such as unemployment, homelessness, relationship troubles, financial troubles, and of course, DEPRESSION. If you’re going through the Big D and trying to find a way through it, do you really need an entire day with depression at the centre of it?

 

As someone who has been through the occasional depression, I can say that any day can be depressing, doesn’t have to be in January, doesn’t have to be on a Monday and it certainly have to be Blue. If anything, it’s upsetting for Blue fans (the colour, not the band). But I’m working through it, as are many other people. And as I sit here writing this, I can’t help feeling a little discouraged that everyone is saying that Blue Monday is hanging over us like a bad omen. Long story short, how are people supposed to climb out of that depression pit if they’re hearing that on this particular day, there’s no footing?

 

Blue Monday is essentially the convoluted practice of making a mountain out of a molehill. That aforementioned kick in the nuts can come from anywhere at any time in any form. I mean, even if Blue Monday is accurate, it’s not like the other 364 days are a carnival of delight, are they? For some people – myself included – depression comes and goes, not always at a time of our choosing. For others, it is a constant, always there, eating away at you in some form, waiting to jump on the first sign of anxiety you show.

 

That having been said, I appreciate that organizations such as Help for Heroes and Rethink are working tirelessly to raise awareness of the plights surrounding mental health. It’s a shame that Blue Monday gets thrown into the mix.

 

So, to all of you out there right now who have gone through or are going through low spirits, I implore you not to let Blue Monday into your mindset. Any day could be Blue Monday. Mental health is driven by our own personal circumstances, not some pseudoscientific crap.

 

Apologies for the melodrama. Next time I go shopping, I’m definitely buying a stressball.

Leave a Reply

